To Bee Continued

Today I’m taking a trip back to paper crafting. I had a little time to get in the craft room this weekend and wanted to make something useful but cute. I had a lot of things I wanted to try with materials in the garage. I had wine glasses to make into candle holders, thin cedar to make into bookmarks, and a bunch of earring ideas. Somehow none of these hit the mark. So I decided to go back to something I enjoy: paper.

I’m still learning the ins and outs of my cricut and wanted to play around so I found a bookmark I liked on Pinterest to start. I downloaded a rectangle with the proportions I like for a bookmark and a realistic outline of a bee. I uploaded both to my canvas, added the words β€œto bee continued”, and put some hexagons on the corners. Next, I attached them so the pen would write on the same rectangle I was cutting. This was where I made a mistake the first time… I accidentally used β€œcut” instead of β€œpen” for the words the first go around….

After fixing that, it went much faster! The hexagons, bee, and writing was all in pen and then it cut the perfect rectangle keeping it centered. Since this paper was a little flimsy, I used a thicker brown cardstock cut slightly larger to center it on. I didn’t want it to seem thrown together, so I cut some yellow hexagons out and put them on the back to tie it together.

Once everything was printed, cut, and glued together, I wanted to add a little flavor. I tested out glitter paint that made the ink run and gold glitter that covered the hexagon lines. So I ended up with glue and a crystal glitter on the inside of the hexagons. To make the tassel, I used embroidery floss. I debated putting beads on it, but I think simple turned out better. I’m still very excited to use beads and play around with wood burning for bookmarks, but I really liked how these turned out!! They’ll be on Etsy soon if you like them 😊 As always, if you take any fun pictures or videos, tag me on Instagram @SmileMakePeopleWonder and use the hashtag #DandelionSmiles. Don’t forget to subscribe so you won’t miss out on the next exciting idea.

Leave a comment